Scholarship and research: is there a difference?

I used to think there was no difference. A scholar, I thought, was someone who did research.

A colleague, some years ago, suggested to me that scholarship and research were two different things. Given that up to that moment I had a kind of in-the-belly intuitive sense that I sat uneasily with certain kinds of research but got quite excited when I sensed the presence of scholarship in a room or book, I found this intriguing.

Professor Jennelle Kyd suggests that the difference is that the researcher is creating knowledge, and the scholar is seeking knowledge.

One thought on “Scholarship and research: is there a difference?

  1. Pingback: Can a short story be a valid form of research or scholarship? « degrees of fiction

Leave a Reply

